Mayfield bids farewell to the Class of 2023

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mayfield Central School District celebrated the 75 graduates of the Class of 2023 with a ceremony on Saturday, June 24, on the front lawn of Junior-Senior High School. A presentation of individual awards and scholarships was held the evening before.

Executive Principal John Bishop welcomed family and friends, while instilling in the graduates that life is short, and they are the ones in control of its direction.

“Have fun, don’t spend time worrying about things you can’t control, be yourself and don’t let others bring you down. Spend your time with people who make you feel loved and live every day to the fullest. The bad news is that time flies, the good news is you are in the driver’s seat,” he said.

In his speech, Salutatorian Trevor Ruberti spoke of all the “firsts” ahead of them and how this was the time for each of them to stand on their own.

“This fall we step into the real world, in doing so we will leave behind all our friends, families, and the familiar halls of Mayfield High School. For the first time, we will walk into a class and not really know anyone there. We are going to have to think and act on our own,” said Ruberti. “But change is not a bad thing, and if we can grow from adversity and change, there is no doubt in my mind we will flourish.”

Valedictorian Dylan Merck took to the podium and imparted his final words to the Class of 2023.

“In my high school years, I’ve learned that the biggest key to success is self-motivation. The amount of work you put into something is exactly what you can expect to get out of it,” he said. “I truly believe that all of you can do anything you set your mind to. Go out and explore the world, meet new people, take care of your friends, live with passion, trust yourself, and most importantly, have fun.”

Superintendent Christopher Harper then thanked families for “giving us the opportunity to share in the education and the lives of your children.” He reminded the audience of the important role each of them has played in the successes of the graduates, remarking on the “journey” parents and children take together.

“They have depended on you, looked to you for leadership and guidance, and molded their decisions on the values you have taught. As their next journey begins, know that your influences will be no less significant.”

The Mayfield Select Choir performed for the Presentation of the Flowers, a traditional part of graduation in which each graduate gives a flower to someone in their family. This special moment elicits many smiles, hugs, and happy tears.

Graduates proceeded across the stage to receive their diplomas from Executive Principal John Bishop; Board of Education members Aaron Flynn and Vanessa DiNitto; and Superintendent Christopher Harper.

The Mayfield Class of 2023 graduates are:

  • Cameron Abdella
  • Katarina Agerter
  • Sallyann Agerter
  • Aaron Akey, Jr.
  • Leah Almy
  • Evan Anadio
  • Navea Aponte
  • Madison Archibald
  • Morgan Ashline
  • Hailey Ballman
  • Elisabeth Blanchard
  • Devin Bogdanowicz
  • Abigail Brown
  • Jordan Buanno
  • Gary Burns
  • Zachary Byrns
  • Isabella Capano
  • Keeghan Carver
  • Jaidyn Chest
  • Jade Danforth
  • Kailyann Daniels
  • Robert Dence
  • Liam Donde
  • Zoey Dutcher
  • Nathan Edwards
  • Callie Erb
  • Matthew Febbie
  • Lacey Frasier
  • Sage Gifford
  • MaryKate Greco
  • Seth Hallenbeck
  • Fianna Halloran
  • Asenath Hichens-Smith
  • Quntavious Hornsby
  • Jacob Ivancic
  • Cameron Keller
  • Madison King
  • Bella Lawrence
  • Jackson Levine-Grace
  • Brooke Long
  • Gabriel Lucero
  • Emilie MacHattie
  • Ayodele Majekodunmi
  • Kelsea Maxson
  • Dylan Merk
  • Olivia Michalski
  • Michael Mullarkey
  • Katelyn Nash
  • Annie Nichols
  • Thomas Orlando
  • Althea Pagente
  • Sarah Paul
  • Karsyn Pianelli
  • Aiden Pierce
  • Lilliana Powers
  • Lily Putkowski
  • Loryn Putkowski
  • Blake Rhodes
  • Jaylynn Rowback
  • Trevor Ruberti
  • Marley Ruliffson
  • Dillan Salvione
  • Aiden Santiago
  • Christian Scunziano
  • Michael Smigen
  • Alyssa Smith
  • Collin Smith
  • Abby Sweeney
  • Isabella Towne
  • Karagan Warner
  • Cameron West
  • Lilia White
  • Brice Williams
  • Joseph Wittemeyer
  • Adriana Yuret

For a complete list of 2023 Senior Class Awards