Mayfield inducts 12 into National Junior Honor Society

Twelve students were inducted into the Mayfield chapter of the National Junior Honor Society during an evening ceremony on October 26 in the Jr/Sr High School auditorium.

The Mayfield chapter of the Junior Honor Society was established in 2022 and now consists of 25 members. Junior Honor Society members regularly work on community service projects, with last year’s members completing 262 hours. Community service projects included raking leaves at local churches, a Thanksgiving food drive, volunteer work at the Elementary school, a village-wide clean up, as well as setting up and working at the 6th grade graduation.

To qualify for membership in NJHS, students must meet the grade requirements for scholarship, and show evidence of strong character, active leadership, and service to their school and community.

The Mayfield chapter’s adviser is Ms. Rebecca Newkirk.

students stand in a row on stage while another row of students sits on the edge of the stage holding a sign saying National Junior Honor Society

2023 Inductees: Evan Hubiak, Hailey Jones, Ian Curley, Alice Blackwood, Alaura Dolder, Gracie Cabral, Isabella Castiglione, Maya Canton, Rhiannon Donde, Aydin Beck, Miles Meher and Anda Klim.